Appointment of President and Vice-Presidents

Summary

1. The General Assembly is invited to appoint a President and Vice-Presidents for 2005/2006.

Recommendations

2. That Lord Richard Best be appointed President of the Association, to succeed Lord Ouseley and the MPs, Peers, and MEPs listed in paragraph 3 below be appointed as Vice-Presidents for 2005/2006. (The political groups will submit further nominations at the Annual Meeting).

3. **MPs**

Labour

The Labour Group will submit a list of nominations at the meeting.

Conservatives

Christopher Chope OBE MP The Rt Hon David Curry MP Andrew Lansley CBE MP Eric Pickles MP Caroline Spelman MP

Liberal Democrat

Lynne Featherstone MP Julia Goldsworthy MP Paul Rowen MP Andrew Stunell OBE MP

Peers

Labour

The Labour Group will submit a list of nominations at the meeting.

Conservative

Baroness Hanham CBE Lord Hanningfield DL

The Rt Hon The Lord Jenkin of Roding

Liberal Democrat

Baroness Barker Baroness Bradshaw Lord Dholakia Baroness Maddock Lord Roger Roberts

Cross Benchers

Lord Butler of Brockwell GCB CVO Lord Dearing Baroness Greengross OBE Lord Laming CBE DL Baroness Prashar CBE

MEPs

Labour The Labour Group will submit a list of nominations at the meeting.

Conservative

Edward McMillan-Scott MEP

Liberal Democrat

Andrew Duff MEP Fiona Hall MEP Saj Karim MEP

Contact Officer: Roy Williams (roy.williams@lga.gov.uk) (020 7664 3230)